Be the Change…!

During college days, I was a part of the team that worked under the guidance of Dr. D.K. Mishra to revive the SPICMACAY – Orissa Chapter. This was time when we had the privilege of meeting Dr. Ravi Kuchimanchi, founder of AID. He was working with Medha Patkar on “Narmada Bachao Andolan” (probably still is). I wanted to work with AID but couldn’t.

For the past one year, I’ve surrounded with codes, vulnerabilities, technologies… I am even a part of the social wing of my company but haven’t really done any work.

I couldn’t gather enough time to contribute to any of the above… or so I used to think. Now, I realize that my biggest mistake was treating them and *technology* as separate entities. It’s now I realize that both can complement each other…

Very ironically, it is not a matter of surprise that the media has been *pathetically* highlighting the dirty features of the society. It has been deleting all its beautiful aspects. Well, why not!
It’s business after all… and in such a business; Dirts sells. Beauty is just a filler.
Most of us are aware of it and criticize it too. But seriously, what is it that we have been doing for it?

I decided to experiment with my above mentioned belief that technology and social work are complementary to each other. Have taken certain initiatives with a motive to bring in at least some change. Expect my personal blog to be one of these changes.

I’d strongly suggest reading this essay by Pandu Nayak, a fellow classmate of Dr. Ravi. It gives an idea how corruption has been one of the biggest reasons for blocking the country’s development.

The video embedded below is an interview of AID-Montreal volunteers, Papia Raj & Aditya Raj on (Bangla TV) CHTV Montreal. The interviewer is Dilip Choudhary. It is in English and Bangla, and gives a little idea of what is AID and what it does.

4 thoughts on “Be the Change…!

  1. I don’t knw. IE 5 or 6 I guess. Actually, ur blogroll and sidebar widgets are overlapping wth ur posts. If it’s fine at ur end, den leave it. Let me c if I can fix mine.

  2. It’s probably IE6. I suggest you upgrade. It has quite a number of vulnerabilities… aaargh! Like I said something new.
    If you can’t download from office, let me know. I’ll drop the FF set up in CommonShare. 🙂
    …And yes. I’ve left dorms (actually I was driven out 😦 ). Currently staying at Gautam’s place.

Leave a Reply

